The Philosopher is the longest-running public philosophy journal in the UK, founded in 1923. It is published by the PSE (The Philosophical Society of England), a registered charity founded ten years earlier than the journal in 1913, and still running regular groups, workshops, and conferences around the UK. As of 2018, The Philosopher is edited by Newcastle-based philosopher Anthony Morgan and is published quarterly, both in print and digitally. 

The Philosopher is a journal that aims to represent contemporary philosophy in all its many and constantly evolving forms, both within academia and beyond. We offer a publicly oriented forum for cutting-edge philosophical discussions to take place, prioritizing exciting up-and-coming thinkers as much as well-established leading figures.


We take seriously the interdisciplinary nature of contemporary philosophy, encouraging contributions from historians, cultural theorists, geographers, psychologists, classicists, activists, artists, and more. Beyond this, we are focused on celebrating "wild philosophy" happening in schools, prisons, pubs, on walks, in monasteries, and so on. We take pride in representing philosophy as it is happening, wherever it is happening, and whoever is doing it!

Contributors over the years have ranged from John Dewey and G.K. Chesterton to contemporary thinkers like Christine Korsgaard, Olúfẹ́mi Táíwò, Elizabeth Anderson, Martin Hägglund, Cary Wolfe, Avital Ronell, and Adam Kotsko.

Read more information about the history of the PSE.


Anthony Morgan

Editorial Board 

Jana Bacevic

Darren Chetty

Alexander Douglas

Brian D. Earp

Adam Ferner

Moya Mapps

Alexis Papazoglou

Chiara Ricciardone

John Robinson

Andrés Saenz De Sicilia

Lauren Slater

Olúfémi O. Táíwò

Lani Watson

Peter West

Art Director

William Eckersley

Cover Design (Print)

Halliday Books

Creative Volunteer

Olive Richardson

Editorial Volunteers

Joanna Ciafone

Lottie Moore

Oliver Woolley