Joanna Borkowska, Dawn_edited.jpg

ON PHILOSOPHY

AUTUMN 2021

fauci.jpg

Monday 13th December

The Critique of Ecological Reason

Pierre Charbonnier with Simona Capisani

In this conversation with Simona Capisani, philosopher Pierre Charbonnier will open up a new intellectual terrain: an environmental history of political ideas. His aim is not to locate the seeds of ecological thought in the history of political ideas as others have done, but rather to show that all political ideas, whether or not they endorse ecological ideals, are informed by a certain conception of our relationship to the Earth and to our environment.

fauci.jpg

Tuesday 14th December

Reparations and Climate Justice

Olúfemi O. Táíwò with William Paris

Reparations for slavery have become a reinvigorated topic for public debate over the last decade, with most theorizing about reparations treating it as a social justice project – either rooted in reconciliatory justice focused on making amends in the present or focus on the past, emphasizing restitution for historical wrongs. In this conversation with William Paris, political philosopher Olúfemi O. Táíwò will argue that reparations should be rooted in a hopeful future that tackles the issue of climate change head on, with distributive justice at its core.

Following the success of our spring series of “digital dialogues”, with people tuning in from 87 countries around the world, we have now confirmed the line-up for our new series starting in September.

The poster for the series can be found here

 

We are incredibly excited by the wide range of topics that will be discussed and the amazing speakers who have agreed to take part. Please join us and spread the word to friends and colleagues!

All events will begin at 7.00pm U.K. time (11am PST/2pm EST).

They will last for one hour, including time for audience questions.

Free and online. All welcome.

For information on past events, including recordings, click here.